Console - Save old articles aliases


Console - Save old articles aliases

Console - Save old articles aliases

The plugin updates the aliases of Joomla articles by adding the article id to them, according to the old Joomla routing rules. This will allow you to save the old URLs of the articles and at the same time transfer
Joomla site to a new router.

Description

Why use this plugin

Video (Russian language)

The problem with the id in the URL of Joomla materials on old sites and old router

In older versions of Joomla, the URL was formed according to the scheme [material id + material alias]. For example, 145-my-article-alias. However. the old Joomla router was not perfect and produced duplicates of pages, which SEO specialists fought hard with the help of various plugins and hacks of the CMS core.

Starting with Joomla 3.8, a new router was included in the kernel, devoid of these disadvantages. He was also distinguished by the fact that he removed the article id from the URL. And this, in turn, led to problems on large sites, since they already had many pages in the search engine index. Therefore, even when updating the site to Joomla 4 and Joomla 5, many old sites had to leave the old router on.

The solution to the problem

The solution to the problem is quite simple. You need to save the Joomla content id to aliases and then disable the old Joomla router. This is exactly what this plugin does, allowing you to process thousands of articles in a few seconds. In the database, the article id is added to each alias in front, which brings it to the view that the old Joomla router formed.

This way the page URL will be saved, but a new router will be running under the hood of Joomla.

You do this work after your site has been successfully updated to at least Joomla 4. The plugin will only work with Joomla 4 and higher.

How to use

Connect to your server via SSH (this article can helps you Joomla 4: A Powerful CLI Application), go to the CLI folder of your site and run the command php joomla.php oldarticlesaliases:save. In this case, all articles on the site will be processed without exceptions.

If you add the test argument - php joomla.php oldarticlesaliases:save test - then you will see exactly what changes will be made by the plugin, but the changes themselves will not be applied.

In order to process articles of only selected categories, specify the id of these categories in the option --cats separated by commas without spaces. For example, --cats=12,140,211. The command in this case will look like php joomla.php oldarticlesaliases:save --cats=12,140,211.

Be careful!

The plugin works with the database directly. Be sure to make a backup copy of the database before you start working!

Call the command of this plugin only 1 (one) time, otherwise duplicates of article IDs in aliases like 145-145-my-article-alias may occur.

Joomla

Extension type:
Plugin
Folder:
Console
Joomla version:
5.0.0

WebTolk Joomla Extensions

78 Extensions
11 Categories
340 Versions released
326978 Downloads
Cart
Cart is empty

Console - Save old articles aliases


Console - Save old articles aliases

Console - Save old articles aliases

Плагин обновляет алиасы материалов Joomla, добавляя к ним id материала, согласно старым правилам роутинга Joomla. Это позволит сохранить старые URL материалов и при этом перевести сайт Joomla на новый роутер.

Описание

Зачем этот плагин

Проблема с id в URL материалов Joomla на старых сайтах и старый роутер

В старых версиях Joomla URL адрес формировался по схеме [id материала + алиас материала]. Например, 145-my-article-alias. Однако. старый роутер Joomla был не идеален и плодил дубли страниц, с чем усиленно боролись СЕО специалисты с помощью различных плагинов и хаков ядра CMS.

Начиная с версии Joomla 3.8 в ядро был включён новый роутер, лишенный этих недостатков. Так же его отличало то, что он убирал id статьи из URL адреса. А это в свою очередь приводило к проблемам на больших сайтах, так как у них уже много страниц было в индексе поисковых систем. Поэтому, даже при обновлении сайта на Joomla 4 и Joomla 5 многие старые сайты вынуждены были оставлять включённым старый роутер.

Решение проблемы

Решение проблемы довольно простое. Нужно сохранить id материалов Joomla в алиасы и после этого отключить старый роутер Joomla. Именно эту работу и выполняет данный плагин, позволяя обработать тысячи статей за несколько секунд. В базе данных к каждому алиасу спереди добавляется id статьи, что приводит его к виду, который формировал старый роутер Joomla.

Таким образом URL страницы будет сохранён, но под капотом Joomla будет работать уже новый роутер. 

Эту работу вы проделываете уже после того, как ваш сайт успешно обновлён хотя бы до Joomla 4. Плагин будет работать только с Joomla 4 и выше.

Как использовать?

Подключитесь к вашему серверу по SSH (вам может помочь статья Joomla 4: мощь CLI приложений), перейдите в папку CLI вашего сайта и выполните команду php joomla.php oldarticlesaliases:save. В этом случае будут обработаны все статьи на сайте без исключений.

Если добавить аргумент test - php joomla.php oldarticlesaliases:save test - то вы увидите какие именно изменения будут проведены плагином, но сами изменения не будут применены.

Для того, чтобы обработать статьи только выбранных категорий укажите id этих категорий в опции --cats через запятую без пробелов. Например, --cats=12,140,211. Команда в этом случае будет выглядеть php joomla.php oldarticlesaliases:save --cats=12,140,211.

Будьте внимательны и осторожны!

Плагин работает с базой данных напрямую. Обязательно сделайте резервную копию базы данных перед началом работы!

Вызывайте команду этого плагина только 1 (один) раз, иначе могут возникнуть дубли id статей в алиасах вида 145-145-my-article-alias.

Joomla

Тип расширения:
Плагин
Каталог:
Console
Версия Joomla:
5.0.0

Расширения Joomla WebTolk

78 Всего расширений
11 Категорий
340 Выпущено версий
326995 Всего скачиваний
Корзина
Корзина пуста